Cleaning the praying altar

Today is the first day of the month in Chinese Lunar colander. We call it 初一 (chuyi).
My mom always ask me to clean and tidy up the altar table and buy some fruits for prayer.
Without fail, I never do it. Frankly speaking, I don’t like to mess up my family’s family altar. Everything looks so fragile and my carelessness is well known in my family.
Plus chuyi hardly falls on weekends so I never bother to wake up earlier and get it done before I go to work.

Why today?

Today is a public holiday for the state of Penang. I reluctantly started wiping the altar, refilling the water, bathing the goddess of mercy (guan-in-ma) and so on.
The dust has accumulated an inch thick. I feel so sorry for guan-in-ma.
While i was cleaning the altar, ironically, I felt unusual sense of calmness in me.
I could hear the birds chirping, the breeze, and the sound from the nearby hill forest and even my own heartbeat. It’s been a while since I could really sit down and listen to my surroundings.

I must do this more often.

After cleaning, I put some fruits and completed the prayer ritual. Well that was how I kick start my peaceful Monday. GOOD MONDAY!

20130708-114212.jpg

Categories: Family, Feelings | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,153 other followers

